About | Help | FAQ | Special pages | Preferences | Log in

Printable version | Disclaimers | Privacy policy | Latest revision

Michigan Jurisdiction for CPE

Contents

Michigan Links

Rules: http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(10xxbrm5oh1nt355kiukkni0))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-299-1980-7


Compliance Period

An annual fiscal period which begins on July 1.

New licensee periods will begin on the date of licensure and end on the next June 30 after licensure.


Total Requirement

During the period at least 40 credits must be earned.

New Licensees have no requirement in the year they are licensed.


Ethics Requirement

At least 2 credits must be earned during the period.

New licensees do not have an Ethics requirement.


Accounting and Auditing Requirement

At least 8 credits must be earned in Accounting and Auditing subjects.

New licensees do not have an Accounting and Auditing requirement.


Carryover

Up to 40 credits can be carried over into the next period to help meet the requirement. No more than 2 credits in Ethics may be carried over to meet the subsequent Ethics requirement. No more than 8 credits in Accounting and Auditing programs may be carried over to meet the subsequent Accounting and Auditing requirement. No more than 30 “other” credits can be carried over to meet the subsequent general requirement.


Teaching Restriction

No more than 50% of the credits earned in the period can be earned through teaching CPE programs.


Self-Study Restriction

No more than 50% of the credits earned in the period can be earned through programs delivered in self-study formats.


Punishment Credits

If the licensee does not complete the 80 credit requirement and sub-requirements (16 A&A / 4 Ethics) for the biennial CPE reporting period by any given even numbered year (unless a new licensee) then an extension along with punishment credit occurs.

A penalty of 4 credits, of any credit type, will be assigned per month until the deficit and penalty credits are completed.

Note: If an extension is needed with punishment from a deficit in the 1st year of the 2 year period, place the extension on the 1st year of the 2 year requirement. This extension will not calculate punishment, but will put the deficit into the second year of the 2 year reporting period. Once that is done, an extension can be placed on the 2nd year and punishment will be assigned based on the length of that extension and credits for punishment and the deficit will be properly pulled back into the period.



Main pageLearnLive CaptureLearnLive ConnectLearnLive CompassLearnLive ComplianceLearnLive ContinuumCPE Jurisdiction rulesGlossary
Edit
My pages
Log in / create accountMore…